Utah Car Seat and Booster Seat Safety
*Infants (Birth – two-years-old or as long as possible.)
Infants should ride in rear-facing safety seats until as long as possible or until they are at least two years old. Rear-facing seats are important because when used properly, these seats reduce the risk of neck injury to infants, according to the American Academy of Pediatrics.
*Toddlers (approximately 2 -4 years or 40 lbs.)
Toddlers up to 2 year of age should ride in forward facing safety seats as long as they fit (i.e., ears should be below the top of the back of the seat, with shoulders below the seat strap slots). When children reach 40 pounds, they should be secured in a booster seat.
*Young Children (approximately 4 – 8 years or 40-80 lbs.) NEW Booster Seat Law
As of May 5th, 2008, all children in Utah under eight years of age must be properly restrained in a child restraint or booster seat. Children should use a belt-positioning booster seat after they weigh at least 40 pounds or according to manufacturers recommendation. Belt-positioning booster seats raise children up so the lap and shoulder belts fit correctly. Children should continue to ride in a booster seat until they are 4’9” tall or eight years old.
*Older children (9 – 12 years old)
Children who are no longer required to use a booster seat (older than eight years of age or older or taller than 4′9″) must wear a seat belt. Shoulder belts should never be placed behind the passenger’s back or under an arm.
*All children under the age of 13 years old should ride in the back seat